Distracted by sun and sketching

The beautiful, summer-like day offered distraction from election day.  I sketched the art at three light rail stations:  Rainier Beach, Othello, Columbia City.  And hardly thought about the election and definitely resisted checking news.

This is an on-going series project to sketch at least one piece of art at each of the Light Rail stations.  There are more than one at each station and I did make photos of them all.  More on my photo host here:
https://redharp.smugmug.com/SketchOutings/2016-1108-Sketching-Light-Rail/

Each sketch has a bit of paper collage stuck on after I got home.  Each is the logo of the logo of its station.

First stop was Rainier Beach station.  My choice to sketch was Parable by Buster Simpson.  The title is a bit of a pun. “Set in the orchard-like plaza landscaping, the still-life sculpture resembles a bowl of pears and wrecking balls, morphed into one. Parable provides an allegorical reference to the ordered urban landscape and the dynamically changing city.”

 

Right back on the train to the next stop, Othello.  I already knew that I my choice was “Rainier Valley Haiku” by Roger Shimomura.  “Is our culture becoming a melting pot or a tossed salad? Is one condition preferable to the other? The artist asks these questions in a 13-foot-tall sculpture of stacked objects that stimulates public interpretations about immigrant culture in America.”

 

The banners on the left are paper collage as well.  Othello is an area with many ethnicities and many languages.   An older woman tried to talk to me about the sketch.  She pointed at the sculpture, than at herself and said something that sounded like “sing”.  It didn’t dawn on my to use my phone’s Google translate!  She also asked me to give her the sketch and I respectfully declined.

By now, it was noon and I was thinking about what to do about lunch.  I checked the map and saw that PCC market was just a couple blocks from the Columbia City Station.  So that’s were I went for my lunch break.  I was tempted to sketch this scene on the patio, but it would have taken more time than I wanted to spend.

Back at the station, the ginkos in the sun  were striking and I was tempted to sketch them with the lion sculptures.

But I’d already decided on my subject at the Columbia City Station.  The  “Global Garden Shovel” by Victoria Fuller; “Gardening and cultivation are universal. Plants, fruits and vegetables from around-the-world intertwine to form a 36-foot-tall bronze shovel digging into the landscape, symbolizing new beginnings and new possibilities.”

By 1430, I was already loosing the light!  The sun was going down behind the hills as I finished the sketch.  I think today set a record for high temperature on this date, about 70 degrees.

Our plan for the evening of this historic election day is to catch up on some TV series recorded on the DVR and only check the election news on the 11pm local news.  Still, I am anxious about it!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Distracted by sun and sketching

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Great sketches on a gorgeous day! The piece at Othello looks really interesting. ..I haven’t seen that station yet.

    Tina

  2. D. Abreu says:

    Very lovely Kate! I wish I could have been there soaking up this beautiful day and sketching!

  3. Wow!!! 3 sketches of art at different stations…good for you! You must have really enjoyed the wonderful weather…definitely a treat!

Leave a Reply

