I’m now “official”

The Friday group of Seattle Urban Sketchers had a delicious sketch outing to Fran’s Chocolates in the Georgetown neighborhood of Seattle.  Fran’s is located in an old brick industrial building that is itself an interesting subject for sketching.

Given that it was another partly sunny, mild day, I chose to do my first sketch outside.  This is another historic brick building that used to be the Seattle Brewing Company.

I had the ink drawing completed when a man approached me.  He wore a jacket with the logo “Sabey“.  He asked what we were doing and said he was not aware we had contacted the landlord for permission to be on the property.  I told him I had contacted Fran’s and we had permission.  He said that the landlord did not allow anyone in the area in which another sketcher and I were sitting.  I decided not to argue with him that I was, in fact, sitting on Fran’s steps.  In any case, we complied and immediately decamped back into Fran’s.

I tempered my annoyance with humor.  After another sketcher had been asked to leave a sidewalk in front of a business a couple years ago, we now joke that you’re not a real Urban Sketcher until you’ve been asked to leave a place.  I explained this to Helen, who was sketching with me on “forbidden ground”.  So we are both now “official”.

My second sketch was the large chocolate turkey.  It was quite the creation.  I did ask and it is hollow, not solid chocolate.  But still!   I only purchased the very small version.

When I had dropped by last week to alert them were were coming and to ascertain that it would be alright, I brought them a few prints of the sketch I did last time we were there.  Today I noticed it displayed on the steps!

The staff were interested and very gracious. They had also joined our sketch sharing to look at the work we’d done.    We all had either coffee or tea and most of us also bought chocolate.  My English Breakfast tea was delicious and served elegantly.  As we left, we were told, “Come back anytime!”.


I think one sketcher left early, before the group photo.

More photos inside Frans:   https://redharp.smugmug.com/SketchOutings/2016-1111-Frans-Chocolates/

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to I’m now “official”

  1. Congrats! You are official. Back in 1991 when I first took a course on doing local-history interviews, I was told something similar — that you are not a real historian until you get thrown out of a place. I haven’t been thrown out yet but I have been refused entry several times; is that close enough????

Leave a Reply

