A different approach

I met Roy when he came to the 4th Annual West Coast Sketch Crawl we hosted in Tacoma.  Since then, he has been a regular sketcher, mostly with Tacoma.

He is an an Oblate of St. Placid Priory in Lacy, WA, a professional graphic artist, and a spiritual director. He teaches Blessed Movements regularly at the Priory. He wrote and illustrated Praying with the Body: Bringing the Psalms to Life.  His postings of his sketches are accompanied by brief meditations, thoughts or haiku, many very profound.

Today he taught an art workshop at St. Placid, “Drawing Everyday Blessings”. While he gave some drawing instruction, the main focus was finding the Sacred in the everyday and experiencing the spiritual in drawing.  I didn’t take a lot of notes and am trying to integrate the workshop as I write about it.  I think the most significant take away for me was:  Once I choose a subject to sketch, think (meditate) on what is significant about that subject and why did I choose it.  What does it say to me?

I took these concepts with me as I went out to walk the trails on the beautiful Priory grounds.  I made a few small sketches on a single page.  The lines I wrote are what came to me as I sketched.

Photos here https://redharp.smugmug.com/MKB/2016-1112-St-Placid-Priory/

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class, Sketches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A different approach

  1. You’re inspiring me with your takeaway and sketches. Thank you for sharing your wonderful sketches and learnings.

  2. That’s a really interesting approach. Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

