Empty Lock

I saw a front page image this morning of the large lock drained at the Ballard Locks.  I knew it had been drained a week or so ago.  The story reminded me that if I wanted to see it this year, I’d better go soon.  Saturday traffic would be less of a problem but it was raining.  I checked the forecast and it seemed the drizzle might stop by 10am so I tossed my sketch bag in the car and headed out.

It was quite a sight to see the empty lock.  It didn’t even smell too badly though I’d heard earlier that when first drained, it was really smelly.    It was still drizzling when I arrived.  But it let up just enough for me to get the line sketch done.

looking the other direction

looking the other direction

I planned to attend a demo at the Daniel Smith mothership at noon but thought I had time to stop at McPherson Leather on the way there.  I needed another large piece for the leather bound journals I make for Fort Nisqually.

On the way, I noticed one of the World Day of Remembrance figures I’d read about in the Seattle Times yesterday.      After I parked, I walked back up the street to see it and did another quick sketch.


#WDR2016
World Day of Remembrance Nov 20 2016   This figure represents one of more than 200 people who died in Seattle in traffic in the past 10 years.  visionzerosea.org

Oh, I skipped the demo.  There was not a single place to park, apparently due to a big party at the venue next door.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Empty Lock

  1. You find such interesting subjects to sketch. Nicely done!

  2. miatagrrl says:

    Good reportage sketch of a not-too-common occurrence! How strange to see it empty.

    Tina

Leave a Reply

