Conservatory

It was another Urban Sketcher Seattle Friday Ad Hoc outing today.  We’d planned to go to the Volunteer Park Conservatory as it offered warm shelter from what was expected to be chilly rain.  It was also a long way from any retail location on this Black Friday!

But the weather was a beautiful, blue sky day, though still a bit chilly.  Some sketched in the Conservatory but others sketched outside in the park.  I was among the latter group.

I first sketched the front door of the conservatory.  I am always attracted to old fashioned architecture.  I thought this would make a good Christmas card, so I altered the ribbon on the wreath to make it more festive (from white to red).  (Arches paper; Daniel Smith Watercolors; Platinum Carbon Black ink in a Lamy Safari).

I remembered I’ve wanted to sketch the Black Sun sculpture so I walked over there next.  I positioned myself so the Space Needle was visible in the opening!  (Bockingford watercolor paper; Daniel Smith Watercolors; Platinum Carbon Black ink in a Lamy Safari).

There was just a few minutes before we were to meet back up.  I did a 10 minute sketch of the sentry camel sculptures in front of the Asian Art Museum.  (Strathmore Series 500 Mixed Media paper; Daniel Smith Watercolors; Platinum Carbon Black ink in a Lamy Safari).

We shared our sketches and had a group photo on the patio in front of the Asian Art Museum:

A few of us went to lunch.  That was more of a challenge.  We drove to 2 different areas and tried 3 restaurants before one had any room.  Note for next year on Black Friday… don’t plan to go to lunch unless it’s a brown bag!   John’s “Belgian” Hot Chocolate had an unusual presentation:  a large lump of chocolate on a stick next to a cup of steamed milk.  He was supposed to melt the chocolate into the milk.  Once the task was completed, he said it tasted like he expected.

Since it was close by, after lunch I decided to go see Bruce Lee’s grave.  I’d driven 30 min. north on the freeway so I might as well take the opportunity while I’m near.   There was a respectful line of people waiting for each one’s chance to spend time alone in front of the memorial.

A few more photos:   https://redharp.smugmug.com/SketchOutings/2016-1125-Volunteer-Park/

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Conservatory

  1. Glad you had nice weather so you could sketch outside. That would make a great Christmas card!

  2. Love the conservatory door. That would make a great card! 🎄

Leave a Reply

