At the Mall

Given it was just after opening time on a weekday, I thought it would be safe to go to the mall to sketch.  I had two goals:  the Santa Land and finding a trash bin to sketch.

Eh?  Trash bin?  Yes.  “Garbage” is the weekly theme for the Urban Sketchers flickr group.  I had nothing to add on that theme so I thought I’d find something at the mall.  It’s only about 35 degrees out so I didn’t want to drive around to find a garbage bin to sketch from the car.

I found a couple likely scenes  to sketch the minimalist, utilitarian bins at the mall.

Next it was on to Santa Land.  I was rather disappointed.  In previous years they’ve had a big display with a large sleigh in which Santa sat.  Last year and now, this year, too, Santa is just on a couch.  The surrounding display was the same.  I didn’t even bother to sketch him as I’d sketched him last year.   This year I sketched the large “Santa” sign, a match for the sign I drew last year.

Too bad I won’t be in Portland until the day after the “Hipster Santa” is in the mall.  It might almost be worth it to go a day early!   And if only I had a reason to go to Toronto.  Fashion Santa seems very cool.

The second sketch was made on a new paper sample.  It is Stonehenge Aqua from Legion paper.  I’ve not done a thorough and rigorous test.  This is just my impression from having used it for a watercolor sketch.  It’s fine. I liked it alright.  If it were available locally, I might use it but I’d have to order it from Cheap Joe’s.  It’s not listed on the site yet so I don’t know the cost.  I’ve been trying out several papers.  So far, I may go with Canson’s Moulin de Roy.  It is 100% cotton but $2 cheaper than Arches per 22×30 sheet.  It’s performance, for my sketching, is as good as Arches.  And I can get it at Daniel Smith.

 

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Urban Sketchers, Weekly Theme and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

