God speed, John Glenn

John Glenn died on Thursday.  I remember exactly where I was during his orbital flight on Friendship 7 on Feb. 20, 1962.  I was in school and everything stopped during the launch and space flight.  There were no TV’s in classrooms then so the radio broadcast was aired over the school’s PA system.

I was at the Museum of Flight on Thursday when I learned of his death.  I didn’t have my full sketch kit with me.  Today was my first opportunity to get back as I wanted to sketch a Mercury artifact in his honor.  This is a mock up of the Mercury space capsule, hung as if it was in orbit.  One of the reader boards had a tribute, as well.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to God speed, John Glenn

  1. Nice sketch of the capsule. I went to Catholic school and John Glenn’s flight was the first time I every remember the nuns bringing in a TV for us to see something. (I didn’t even think they knew about TV. lol) I remember that day so clearly and the excitement and pride we all felt.

Leave a Reply

