Double the Joy

The sketch may have been “double the joy” but our reception at Pacific Place was
not… read on…..

As I left the house, I noted it was 27 degrees.  I dressed warmly for my trip into downtown Seattle via light rail.  Once I arrived at the Pacific Place mall,  I realized they did not have as many holiday decorations as in past years.  I had been looking forward to sketching the oversized nutcracker statues but they weren’t there!

I settled in at the cafe to sketch the view of “Joy”.  These large, red, block letters seem to be “the thing” this year as my local mall has them, too.  Then started a succession of children posing on it for their parents.  Some were probably on their way to meet Santa, who was upstairs.  I managed to catch these two little girls in red dresses. In the background is Suzanne, sketching.

I wandered the 4 floors, looking for another sketch subject.  I finally settled on “Give”.
Mall visitors were encouraged to post a selfie with it to be entered into a contest.  Odd that such photography was encouraged, yet the security guard said we couldn’t sketch…. that’s right, we almost got kicked out!

We managed to share sketches despite the grumbling of the security guard and had
our group photos.  We could come back, the guard said, if we asked permission first. Given the lack of  decorations this year and our poor reception, I don’t think we’ll go back next year.  Other venues love having us, so we’ll re-visit them instead.  Bah, humbug!

I was happy to hear the flutist busking in the light rail station.  It was a “loud room”,  as we used to say, thus he sounded even better than he might have elsewhere.  I used to play the flute, so I left a big tip!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Double the Joy

  1. D. Abreu says:

    This looked like a fantastic outing!

  2. Carol says:

    Sounds oddly grinchy!

  3. Every once in a while people have a hard time with a group of sketchers invading their place. We went to a mall near the World Trade Center once and were told we could sketch but we could not include the “structure” of the building. Did we look like terrorists? I don’t think so. You did get in a few nice sketches.

  4. I operate a drawbridge here in Seattle, and I write a daily blog about my musings while on the job. One of our mutual readers suggested I contact you and invite you to come sketch my drawbridge at some point (perhaps when the weather is warmer in the summer and we get more bridge openings). With my supervisor’s permission, I could give you a tour. Then we could both blog about it! I think this would be great fun! Check out my blog and give me your thoughts!

    • redharparts says:

      Sounds interesting and I’d like to continue the conversation by email. Your blog doesn’t have a “contact me” so please use mine (“about me and contact” at the top) and we can discuss some ideas! Thanks for contacting me.

Leave a Reply

