Now or never

It was now or never… or at least now or not for several months.  I’ve been hearing for weeks that the Bill & Moya Lear Gallery was going to close for the installation of a new Apollo exhibit. Today was just about the only day I had before it closes so I wanted to get there to sketch in the exhibit I’ve only once before sketched.  I would have liked to have sketched the Destiny  module as it will be gone on long term loan as part of the reconfigured exhibit.  It was a busy day and I was concerned I would block access.

This Apollo command module was the first production-line capsule delivered to NASA for testing and training.  Spacecraft 007 was delivered by North American on April 18, 1966 for use in water impact and flotation tests in the Gulf of Mexico. Apollo crews also trained for extended recovery by remaining on board at sea for several days at a time.

As a volunteer, I sometimes get interesting news before the general public.  During our Thursday morning briefing before our shift last week, we were told the Museum of Flight received a copy of the flight log that confirmed what had been suspected:  John Glenn flew this actual aircraft!  That makes it even more special and the other artifact I wanted to sketch today.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Now or never

  1. Kay Tyllia says:

    Kate, you amaze me once more. I learn from your experiences. Thank you for venturing out on a busy Holiday day with your ART materials and Volunteer Spirit. Kay

  2. Glad you got to sketch there before the new installation. Nice!

Leave a Reply

