Ribbon Cutting

Yesterday at the morning briefing before the shift at the Museum of Flight, we heard about the opening ceremony for the new restrooms.  They called it “First Flush”.   It was scheduled for today before the Museum opens, so it was only for staff and volunteers.  It sounded like a fun and silly event.  The docents made so many bad puns about it!

It was, indeed, a fun little event.  A handful of volunteers and several staff attended.  The “ribbon” was made of rolls of toilet paper.  The contractors were thanked by the CEO.  Then the paper was cut and we could have a little tour.   There are 2 All Gender rooms, each is single use (no stalls, just one person at a time).

A few more photos: https://redharp.smugmug.com/MKB/2016-1230-Ribbon-Cutting/

I was there early.  I wrote here on Monday (12/26) that I’d wanted to sketch the Destiny module because it will be removed during the renovation and go out on semi-permanent loan.  Many of the docents are sad about this.  Today it suddenly dawned on me that I was there at 0830, there are no visitors so the gallery is empty.  It as the perfect time to sketch Destiny!  I had the line drawing done before I decamped to attend the ribbon cutting.  Afterward, there was still a half hour before opening time and I had time to finish the watercolor.

“The Museum of Flight’s high-fidelity mock-up of the International Space Station Destiny laboratory module was designed and built by SPACEHAB Corporation in October 2002. It was acquired by the Museum in 2006, in part through the generosity of SPACEHAB. The 20,000-pound (9,000-kg) mock-up contains 24 payload racks (in four six-bay rows) on the deck, port, starboard, and overhead sides, just like the module in orbit. The inch-and-a-half (3.8-cm) thick glass floor has been added to allow viewing of the deck racks”

In order to attend this event, I skipped the USk Friday sketch outing.  It was only later in the afternoon that I remembered it was Ching’s last outing with us before she moves away!  I kicked myself for missing it.   But she’ll still be on this coast and I hope we’ll see her from time to time.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

