End of 2016

Happy New Year!  I’m discouraged and concerned by the National and World news.  But I’m hopeful there is also good news and I hope 2017 will have a lot of that, too.  And I’m hoping for many personal good experiences this year, especially with travel and sketch outings.

These last few years I’ve had a tradition of making a group photo of the year’s writing journals and sketchbooks.  This is the first year in about 5 years that I used the same book all year.

For both my writing journal and my sketchbook I use a Circa disc bound notebook.  I use the Junior size, 7 by 8 5/8 inches.  The disc bound system allows for papers to be removed and/or re-positioned easily.

I have a sturdy punch so I can make my own pages as I do not purchase Circa brand paper.  In the journal, I use writing paper recommended for fountain pen by Brian Goulet ( https://www.gouletpens.com/ ).  It is HP Premium Choice Laserjet at 32#.  An 8.5 x 11 inch piece cut in half is perfect for the Junior sized notebook.

The journals are stored by month and kept together with a rubber band.

This system is good to use as a sketchbook because I can vary the papers in one book.  For the past couple months I’ve been testing 4 kinds of paper and have mostly settled on one.  The 3/4 inch discs don’t allow for keeping many 140# pages so I remove them as it fills.  I keep fresh paper in a zippered pouch and add it a page at a time, as I need a fresh one.

The sketchbook pages – sketches – are kept loose in large envelopes, by date.

Included here are an accordion book that was a gift and one Stillman and Birn Beta I took on a trip.

Now let’s go watch the fireworks on TV!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Journal, KIt and Supplies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to End of 2016

  1. Hi Kate,
    Neat sketching/journaling system you have there. Thanks for taking the time to show it to us. I hope you have a great 2017 and continue to post your great sketches, particularly those at the Museum of Flight.

  2. joantav says:

    Happy New Year, Kate! Good to see your system of organization.

  3. Tina M Koyama says:

    I know you’ve tried many sketchbooks since I’ve known you, so it’s cool to see that you are happy with this system that you’ve used all year. I remember feeling really relieved and settled when I finally figured out my “system.” Less time fussing and more time for sketching! Here’s to another year of sketching!

    Tina

  4. peggywillett says:

    I love the circa system, too. Great to see how you have adapted it to serve your excellent sketches. Thanks for sharing them here.

Leave a Reply

