Pink Hats

Everyone knows about the Women’s March in DC, right? It’s scheduled for 21 January, the day after the inauguration.    One or two people I know are going.  I’m planning to participate in the Seattle march.

This is tangentially related to sketching as a few of us are planning to do some “reportage” sketching of the march.

Related to the March is the “Pussy Hat Project”.    It aims to “Provide the people of the Women’s March on  Washington D.C. a means to make a unique collective visual statement which will help activists be better heard.”  Yes, it’s a rude word but one of the points is reclaiming it… there is an entire paragraph about that on the website linked above.

I hadn’t planned on making one as I don’t knit.  But further exploration on the project website found a pattern to sew one out of fleece.  I was in!

I’ve never liked or worn pink… it’s too girly-girly and I’m not that kind of person.  I also don’t make things out of fleece.  So I didn’t have any fabric in my (substantial) stash.

I’ve had a cold this week.  I’m missing the Friday sketch outing today because I don’t want to infect anyone, though I’m feeling better now.  And on Wednesday afternoon I felt better enough to make a run to the PO Box to get mail and to the fabric store.  I found remnants that totaled about 2 yards.  They were on sale so I got all that fabric for just $5  (fleece is usually $10-12/yard).

But on Wednesday night and Thursday the cold felt worse. Maybe I relapsed a little because I did too much on Wednesday afternoon?  So I sat on the couch, watched DVD’s and TV and hand sewed 15 hats!   In the period sewing lessons at Fort Nisqually, we’re told to always use a thimble.  I had trouble coordinating its use but I really needed one to get through 2 layers of fleece and it helped me perfect my thimble using skill!

I’m going to wear the darker colored one and will add one or two of my original buttons from the Women’s Movement in the 1970’s!  Another of the darker ones is promised to a friend.  The remaining I’m going to give away at the March.

The pattern is dead easy.  The Pussy Hat website links several free patterns, but the one I liked best and the one I used is by 15y/o Celia, in Michigan.  Link to the pattern pdf.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Crafts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Pink Hats

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Fantastic! Meow! See you at the March!

    Tina

  2. Thanks for the link to the pattern. I’m doing NYC march and I don’t knit, and all the patterns I found were knit ones. I was talking to a friend today about making one from polar fleece. This should work perfectly. I’ll have to go out shopping tomorrow. Feel better!

  3. Adorable. Love it. ❤

Leave a Reply

