A new truck!

The global Urban Sketchers group on flickr has weekly themes.  This week it is “trucks”.  What better place than the LeMay – American’s Car Museum to sketch! I have several sketches of trucks in older sketchbooks but it was good to have a new one to post for the theme.  There were many vintage trucks from which to pick but I liked this 1934 Ford tow truck as it created more of a scene with the mannequin and dog.  It was part of the “Tools of the Trade” exhibit.

I never got off the top floor, though I have been there before and wandered the whole place.  There was also a BMW exhibit and this little Isettra was the weirdest car on the floor!

The back shelf had a wind up key, which I assume is an in-joke.

We shared sketches, had our group photo and shared lunch together.  A couple Museum docents came to look at our sketches, too.

 

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers, Weekly Theme and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A new truck!

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Great sketches! Sure wish I could have joined you — I love that museum!

    Tina

  2. peggywillett says:

    Great post and sketches!

  3. Becky Fields says:

    It’s a treat to see your work. You really captured your subjects in their surroundings. You seem to know just what to leave in. Beautiful work.

Leave a Reply

