With 120,000 of my closest friends

Give or take a thousand. (Update: or 10,000.  Latest Seattle police estimate is 130,00!)  (Update 1/23:  latest estimate is 200,00!)

“So bad, even introverts are here.”  That sign seen in a photo from the DC march sums it up for me.  I don’t like crowds.  This was not the first march in which I’ve participated but it was by far the largest.  Early estimates on the  4pm local news were 120,000 completely peaceful participants.

Our local public radio’s website wrote:  “The front reached Seattle Center (the end)  before the back had left Judkins Park (the start). That’s a distance of a 3.6 miles.”

Except for a few religious zealots yelling at us, the crowd was relatively quiet and very up beat.  I found it a rather joyous atmosphere despite the reason that brought us out.

It was a challenge getting there.  Transit park and ride lot was full so I had to seek other options and then bus it over to the station.   Then the light rail train was really full.  Still, I got to my destination at Westlake in plenty of time.

I decided to use this trip to make a quick investigation of a nearby location for a future sketch outing.  Since it was relatively empty, I grabbed a quick sandwich there, too.

By the time I got back to Westlake the march had nearly arrived.  The side walks were 10 deep in people.  I watched for at least one and a half hours and never saw the end of the marchers!   I decided I didn’t need to join for the last mile walk up to Seattle Center.  I was a little over whelmed by the vast numbers.

Arriving at Westlake

Arriving at Westlake

The sidewalks for blocks were full as was the street.

The sidewalks for blocks were full as was the street.

These ladies were THE Best!

These ladies were THE Best!

Several local Urban Sketchers planned to sketch reportage the March.  I texted with Tina.  But I found Frances and AJ at Westlake.  They’d been sketching while I was on my scouting mission.  I did a couple quick sketches, walked around some more and then made my way home.

AJ, Frances, me

AJ, Frances, me

Oh, and my sign was from This NASW (National Assoc. of Social Workers) and said, “Social Workers for Social Justice”.  I had some positive reactions. (ugh, my hat is crooked).

That's a TV van antennae sticking up in the middle of the sketch.

That’s a TV van antennae sticking up in the middle of the sketch.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to With 120,000 of my closest friends

  1. D. Abreu says:

    Love your post Kate!

  2. So glad you were able to do some sketches. NYC was just too crowded. I only got one done before we stepped into the crowd to march and then we were walking in a mass of humanity for the rest of the day. I have to say, the pink hats I made for our group from the pattern you posted were a big hit with lots of the marchers. I will post my sketch on my blog tomorrow with a few photos.

  3. Dina says:

    Bravo, wonderful post!! Keep walking! 👣don’t tolerate hate 👣

  4. alizkye says:

    You rock! Well done Seattle! 🙂

Leave a Reply

