Pantages

The organizer(s) for the first Saturday outings for Urban Sketchers Tacoma did a lot of work to arrange for us to have exclusive entry to the Pantages Theater for today’s sketch outing.

The interior was wonderful, if a bit dark.  I was wishing I’d brought my book light.  So I positioned myself under a chandelier in the theater in order to do my first sketch.  The overhanging balcony was a popular subject today as I was just one of many sketchers who drew it. In this balcony were 4 sketchers, all drawing the balcony on the other side of the theater.

There was a bit of time left so I next sketched this small ornamental detail in the lobby, with a bit of the stained glass skylight on the upper edge.

We were a large group today so it was a long line of sketches at the “throw down”.

Lots of photos here:  https://redharp.smugmug.com/SketchOutings/2017-0204-Pantages-Theater/

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Pantages

  1. peggywillett says:

    What a rich location for sketching! Your drawing are a delight!

  2. What lovely drawings. I wish I could have been there but I had a date with the flu. Keep up the good work!

  3. miatagrrl says:

    Wish I could have joined you for this — what a fabulous place! And what a great turnout!

    – Tina

  4. joantav says:

    Theaters have such interesting details. I love the sketch of the sketchers in the box. Nicely done!

Leave a Reply

