Spar Cafe

It was a beautiful day today for a sketch outing.  I’ve had the McMenamin’s Spar Cafe in Olympia on my list since I sketched at the McMenamin’s in Centralia.  I needed the stamp to get my prize!

McMenamins always has interesting art for their beer labels.

McMenamins always has interesting art for their beer labels.

It was a lovely drive down and I arrived at lunch time.  I chose a table from which to sketch while I waited for my meal.  The cafe is an Olympia Heritage site, built in 1935.  It has always been a popular meeting place.  Designed by Joseph Wohles.  Some of the booths had curtains, which can be seen on the left in my sketch.


I got both my McMenamin’s Passport and my sketched stamped.  With this last stamp in the section, I earned my prize, which was a T shirt.

More photos here, including some of the original Washington State Capitol Building.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Spar Cafe

  1. miatagrrl says:

    I knew you were trying to sketch all the McMenamins, but I didn’t realize you were going for a prize! Wow, very cool — the sketch, the stamp, the passport, the shirt, everything!

    – Tina

    • redharparts says:

      I’d like to sketch all of them, but that will take a long time. I’m just making sure I take my McMenamin’s passport when I do visit one. Every time a section is completed, there is a prize. 🙂

  2. Mepling says:

    Lovely sketch, Kate…and an inspiring mission. A McMenamins sketching tour is right up my alley!

  3. Kay Tyllia says:

    Very nice job of completing your goal!
    It sounds like it was a fun adventure and a visual treat as well.
    Nicely done, Kate.

Leave a Reply

