Two Record holders

I knew the Pratt-Read Glider was being assembled at the Museum of Flight today.  I dawdled at home in the morning and didn’t get there until 1100.  The efficient team already had it assembled and I met them on their way to lunch.

So I settled down to sketch it as it sat on the floor.  Tomorrow it will be raised to the spot where it will hang from the ceiling.

From the Museum’s website:
“In 1952, project pilots Larry Edgar and Harold Klieforth soared to 44,255 feet in a Pratt-Read, setting a new world altitude record for two-place gliders. The record endured for an incredible 54 years, until Steve Fossett and Einar Enevoldson flew over the Argentinean Andes to 50,727 feet in their modified DG-500, the Perlan I glider.”

The Pratt-Read that flew that record is joining the Perlan glider that also set a record.  The Museum has both aircraft in the collection.  The Perlan is the white one hanging behind the Pratt-Read (it almost blends into the ceiling).

More photos of the glider here:  https://redharp.smugmug.com/MKB/2017-0214-Pratt-Read-Glider/

I had another agenda item for my sketching at the Museum today.  The USk flickr group’s weekly theme is “parking lots” and I don’t have any in my sketchbooks.  So I sat in the comfort of the Museum cafe and sketched the view of the “Connie”  and the parking lot beyond.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Urban Sketchers, Weekly Theme and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Two Record holders

  1. joantav says:

    As always, great sketches from the museum.

  2. miatagrrl says:

    Great sketch of a parking lot “in context”! It’s easy enough to sketch a lot from a car, but not as easy to also show what people are parked there for!

    -Tina

  3. redharparts says:

    Thanks, Joan and Tina. Just sketching cars didn’t interest me so I wanted to add more interest.

  4. redharparts says:

    UPDATE: The Seattle Times photo essay on the glider I sketched earlier this week. Pete, in the second photo, is a docent with whom I work on Thursday mornings. AND he works at the Museum’s restoration center in Everett, having spent 8 years on this project! Amazing man.

    http://www.seattletimes.com/seattle-news/restored-1942-glider-readied-for-display-at-museum-of-flight/?utm_source=facebook&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=article_left_1.1

Leave a Reply

