Sketching bouldering

It’s been 3 years since Urban Sketchers Seattle were last at the Seattle Bouldering Project.  Most of those sketching today hadn’t been there before.  I had been on that first outing and today discovered they’d added a cafe to the layout.

Staff gave us a safety briefing prior to letting us loose.  He said, “most of bouldering is falling” as he warned us to stay well away from the walls!

As I did last time, I headed for the children’s wall.  It has more handholds and crawl spaces.  Also much more noise.  I’d forgotten that as well as my earplugs!  The kids were a little slower on the wall than adults upstairs.  I just waited for another child to make the climb to add to each sketch of a climber.

Next I joined the line of sketchers on the second floor balcony to sketch the climbers from above. For this one I remembered a lesson and drew a quick, gestural line of the climbing figure which I then filled in.

Sharing out sketches

Sharing out sketches

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sketching bouldering

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Terrific sketches! What a fun outing!

  2. aduke2015 says:

    Great sketches. You would get some really challenging angles !

Leave a Reply

