Fifth Anniversary

Today is the 5th anniversary of the first time I went to an Urban Sketchers sketch outing.

On 2/26/12 I joined the group at an outing at the Stimson-Green Mansion.

I didn’t do any urban sketching today but I did go to Social Watercolor at Daniel Smith.  And I painted a sketch of an urban sketcher friend!  I drew from my own photo and it almost looks like her….

I had just retired a few months before discovering Urban Sketchers.  I knew instantly that was something I wanted to do.  It’s been a wonderful experience that has added fun, purpose and meaning to my retirement.  I’ve made new friends.  I’ve gained new skills.  I’ve been to new and interesting places.

By way of a comparison, here is one of the sketches I did on that first sketch outing.  It was done with watercolor pencils.  I didn’t have any actual watercolors but I’d taken a class about colored pencils so brought them along. I drew constantly in my youth but had not put pencil to paper to draw in about 40 years.

This is one from a recent outing to the same location.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Journal, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Fifth Anniversary

  1. melepling says:

    Kate,
    Your art, energy and generosity of spirit continues to inspire me. I, also, discovered USk a few months following my retirement and I haven’t looked back. With your help, we’ve got USk Port Townsend off the ground—a new set of friends for you out here on the Olympic Peninsula! Happy anniversary! Hope to sketch with you again soon.
    Mel

  2. miatagrrl says:

    Congrats on your milestone USk anniversary! So cool to see how far you’ve come in your sketches. And only 3 months later, I would join USk. . . and the rest is history. 😉

    – Tina

  3. joantav says:

    Happy USk anniversary!!! I can tell from your posts how much the urban sketching meetings have meant to you. I know that the friendships, the locations, and the experiences just can’t be beat.

Leave a Reply

