Sew Expo 2017

Yesterday I went to Sew Expo.  I almost didn’t go but I’m glad I did! For the past many years I’ve been going at least one day of the 4 day event.  Since I retired, I go on Thursday, opening day, and I go early.  There are still a lot of people (nearly all women!) but fewer than the weekends by far.

This year I registered for only 2 “1 needle seminars”. These are just 45 min presentations.

“Crafty Chris” presented on hand embroidery.  I already know how to do embroidery and I use period medieval stitches almost exclusively.  Luckily, they are also some of the most commonly used stitches.  Chris’s seminar was a perfect blend of information for the beginner as well as updates on new products and techniques for the more experienced. Chris does free, drop in, crafting sessions at all the Pacific Fabric locations.

I went straight to the Pacific Fabrics booth to use the 20% off coupon for a couple items she covered.  I am very excited to try Transer-Eze.  It is “a water soluble film that needles well” and can be used in an ink jet printer!  I have many patterns I’ve bought or drawn myself that will lend themselves to being printed!  Such an easy way to transfer the design.  It’s available at Pacific Fabrics in Washington state and also  here, but there is no info about it. Reviews on Amazon are mixed.   I’ll make a comment to this post about the results of my test.

Lois Hallock gave a talk about sewing ergonomics.  She is a Mechanical Engineer for Boeing!  I am going to apply her suggestions this weekend in hopes I can eliminate the sore muscle I get in my back almost immediately when I start sewing.  This was perhaps THE most helpful seminar I’ve ever attended at any Sew Expo.    Her website:  http://www.clearview-designs.com/

In between, I walked the aisles full of sales booths.  So much fabric!  And I did not buy any this year.  I call that incredible restraint.  I laughed out loud when I saw Pacific Fabrics has a Marijuana print fabric!

Pacific Fabrics always has a beautiful display.  This year it features their exclusive “Nostalgic Washington” design fabric by local Lantern Press

I found a new charity sewing project. http://sewpowerful.org/  When I went to the website this morning, I discovered their location is only a few blocks from where I live!  However, the FAQ says they do not want drop-offs. If you follow the link to “download the pattern” you have to sign up for a mailing list.  It took about an hour to get the email that then led me to the link to download the pattern.  And then the connection to download was a bit slow.  Perhaps it is effected by volume from Sew Expo! That would be good.

Now that my sewing machine has been fixed and cleaned, I can start on some new projects.   I also dug out the basket of unfinished embroidery projects.  Most of them are my SCA heraldry!

A few more photos:  https://redharp.smugmug.com/MKB/2017-0302-Sew-Expo/

Update (late evening):  I’ve used the Transfer-Eze and, so far, it works great!  One of the reviews on Amazon complained that it left a sticky residue on the needle.  I had no such problem.  I’m not sure I have any means to do a transfer on black fabric, either.  Once the project is completed, I’ll do another addendum about how the wash out went.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class, Crafts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sew Expo 2017

  1. redharparts says:

    Transfer-Eze works great. See above addendum to this post.

  2. joantav says:

    This sounds like an interesting expo to go to…lots of useful information.

  3. Pingback: Finished claddagh | Red Harp Arts

Leave a Reply

