Upright F-1 engine

Hind sight is 20/20.  If I’d realized what was going to happen later in the day, I would have arrived at the Museum of Flight about an hour before my shift in order to sketch the F-1 rocket engine in full view.

By the time my shift was over, a curtain had been placed across the opening and they were installing a wooden barrier as well.

One of the facilities staff offered me a chance to get “up close and personal”… since he thought “volunteers, who do so much for the Museum, should get a few perks.”  So I was able to take these photos:  https://redharp.smugmug.com/MKB/2017-0316-F-1-Engine/

We were provided with some more info to share with visitors: “The F-1 engine is one of the most powerful every developed and boosted the Saturn V rockets off the launch pad and to the moon in the 1960’s and 1970’s [I watched most of those launches in the 1960’s!].  It weighs 18,000 pounds.  It stands 19 feet high in a 21 foot room!  The new exhibit, opening late May, will feature the full engine and pieces of an engine from the Apollo 12 mission found by Jeff Bezos deep beneath the Atlantic Ocean.  [These pieces are pancaked…. very compressed…due to both impact with the ocean surface after re-entry and from 40 years of pressure at the bottom of the ocean].  “

After my shift I found an angle that I could see most of the engine around the curtain.  I decided to just leave it as an ink drawing.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Upright F-1 engine

  1. miatagrrl says:

    That engine keeps evading you! But at least you’ve been able to sketch partial views.

    – Tina

  2. joantav says:

    Glad you found a spot to view and sketch most of it. I agree…volunteers should get a few perks!

Leave a Reply

