Return to Point Ruston

One of our number who couldn’t join us at the Jewel Box cafe last Wednesday still wanted to go.  So Feather and I joined Beverly for a return to Point Ruston.

It’s the first day of spring.  I’d hoped to sketch the bunny rumps (sculpture) outdoors on the center plaza but the cold wind off Commencement Bay kept me inside by the fire.

The Jewel Box Cafe has a beautiful fireplace.  We sat in lovely overstuffed chairs to sketch it.  The first sketch is the entire ornate carved frame.

Next is just the view through the fireplace box, which is actually a window.  All the way across the Bay we can see the tips of the Olympic Mountains.

While Beverly went on to an afternoon class, Feather and I went nearby to the Two Town Pub and Cafe.  We had lunch along with more sketching.  My chicken salad was delicious!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers, Weekly Theme and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Return to Point Ruston

  1. joantav says:

    Love the sketches of both interiors…although I’m partial to the fireplace!!

Leave a Reply

