More about Anderson School

Instead of joining the Seattle group at The Roastery, I drove 26 miles and an hour North to Bothell to meet The Whidbey Island Sketchers (WIS) at the McMenamin’s Anderson School.  One of the many wonderful things about McMenamins properties is how they add unique and unusual art and local history to each venue.

I’ve been once before but this visit was especially delightful because my friend, Judi, came.  Anderson School is where she attended Junior High.  As we walked the halls of the old school building, now the hotel, she found so many people she knew featured on the walls and names of rooms!

She even helped me with my clue for the scavenger hunt to complete my McMenamins Passport for Anderson School.  When I collected my prize, I chose an Anderson School tote bag so I could give it to her as a souvenir!  No photos as I don’t want to give away the answer to the clue!

The sketches:

I was early (of course).  So I sat in the lobby by the fireplace.

Once the group arrived, we started with lunch in the North Shore Lagoon, decorated with a South Pacific theme.  The building also houses the pool.  We were a large group, so getting our meals took a while and I had time for a sketch.

Judi and I wandered, as mentioned above.  Then we settled on chairs under a covered walk way to sketch the Shed. This was built by McMenamins as a snug little whiskey bar.

 

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More about Anderson School

  1. joantav says:

    Looks like an interesting spot for sketching…I like the one of the shed!

  2. miatagrrl says:

    We missed you at the Roastery, but I can see you were having fun, too! We all have to get back to Anderson School — maybe when the weather gets nicer.

    – Tina

Leave a Reply

