Boeing 737 birthday

The Museum of Flight threw a 50th birthday party for the Boeing 737.  The first test flight took place on this day in 1967,  at 1315 in the afternoon .  Brien Wygle was the pilot in command.  He’s 92 now and a Museum Docent!

More information:  http://www.seattletimes.com/business/the-boeing-737-which-transformed-jet-travel-turns-50-on-sunday/

Of course I had to go sketch the aircraft that flew in specially for the party… the new version, the 737 Max 8 which is not yet ready for delivery but still painted in Southwest livery.  That first Boeing 737 is on display in the Museum’s Aviation Pavilion.  Now that the birthday party crowds are gone, I think perhaps I should go over to sketch it, too.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Boeing 737 birthday

  1. aduke2015 says:

    Fascinating. You are so fortunate to have this opportunity to be involved in so many ways in this museum and also to sketch the planes. My plane sketches are limited to airports when I travel

    • redharparts says:

      Even though I have no background in aviation, I do enjoy volunteering there. I still have more sketches to do there and there are several special events every year.

Leave a Reply

