Sketchers Retreat, Day One

Sketchers Retreat, Day One:  Monday, April 17

Along with four other Tacoma Urban Sketchers, I went to Port Townsend for about 3 days of sketching.  We called it a Sketchers Retreat.  We shared a large house at the Chevy Chase Cabins.  http://www.chevychasebeachcabins.com/

This was a small group dry run for what could be a larger retreat later in the year….. we hatched a plan but I’ll say no more now!

This venue was a wonderful place to get away.  It was about 5 miles outside of town with it’s own private beach.

We arrived about 1030 and since the weather was good, went straight out to the lighthouse at Fort Worden.  Well, it wasn’t raining and the sky was blue but it was very windy.  I no sooner had a rough pencil sketch done when the wind blew the page right out of my sketchbook, over the rocks and into the water!  I’d forgotten to clip it down.  You can believe I did as I started over.  I finished this view of the Point Wilson Coast Guard lighthouse completely on location, despite the cold wind on the Sound.

Now we were cold and hungry so drove back into town for some food.  We choose the Nifty Fiftys diner for both its burgers and its sketch-ability.

At 3pm, all of us met up at the cabins to check in.  We got ourselves sorted out, explored the cabin and then took a walk down the hill to the beach.

Before the walk, I did a quick sketch out the window on a watercolor post card to mail to a friend.

The group of five went back into town for dinner.  It was a bit difficult to find a place as during this season, many restaurants and stores are closed on Monday and Tuesday!  We took over a corner and sketched mostly each other.  This isn’t the greatest portrait of Frances but I like it well enough as a sketch of a person!

Roy, Frances, Feather, AJ

After dinner we went back to our cozy cabin and spent the rest of the evening talking about sketching and art in general!

All the photos:  https://redharp.smugmug.com/SketchOutings/2017-0417-Sketchers-Retreat-Monday/

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sketchers Retreat, Day One

  1. What a nice time. I’ll look forward to an update on a future event.

Leave a Reply

