Sketchers Retreat, Day Two

Sketchers Retreat, Day Two:  Tuesday, April 18

All five of us went into town for breakfast.  We picked the Blue Moose Cafe in the Boat Haven.  It certainly had a lot of Blue Mooses.  It was rather crowded but I managed a bit of a sketch during breakfast.

Two of the group went back to our cabins to sketch there.  Three of us stayed to sketch the boat yard. I spotted a boat named “Pelican” that I decided would be my sketch target…. but I got waylaid on my walk over to it and had the most delightful experience of the trip!

I stopped to look up at a Tall Ship.  A man called down to me, we shouted back a forth a bit and then he climbed down the ladder to talk.  He is John, the owner of the Merrie Ellen, a schooner on which he sails out with paying customers.  She is a 107 foot gaff schooner, built in Vancouver British Columbia in 1922.
http://www.schoonermerrieellen.com/

He had just yesterday replaced the forward mast.  A woodpecker had made a hole near the top of the old one, water got in and it rotted inside out!  The wood on the new one was beautiful.  Here is an article I found about the new mast, which John built there in the boat yard!  http://www.ptleader.com/news/photo-a-new-mast-for-merrie-ellen/image_c00408f4-140a-11e7-9aef-f38c663ee199.html

John, with a photo of the Merrie Ellen underway

As we talked, I mentioned I was there to sketch some ships.  He said his mother, for whom the Merrie Ellen is named, was a watercolor artist. The Coast Guard commissioned her to paint all the West Coast lighthouses and used them in their brochures and information!  He gave me a packet of five prints which they give to their sailing guests.  How wonderful!  (Here is a bit about her I found).

So, after such a good talk, I had to sketch this ship!  As I settled down to my work, I chose a view of the Merrie Ellen that one wouldn’t normally see.  The main thing that fascinated me about the Boat Haven was seeing all these huge boats out of the water and their undersides revealed.  Also, the perspective was interesting, looking up at them, so high off the ground.

The three of us decided to go into the main part of PT.  Meanwhile, I’d been texting with some of the PT Urban Sketchers and arranged to meet up with Mel.  Once we did, it started to rain so we took shelter at the NW Maritime Center.  I sketched from the sheltered area of a second floor deck, looking out to the Sound.

After dinner together, Feather and I went to hear some Irish Session music.  I sketched two of the fiddlers of whom I had a clear view.

More photos:  https://redharp.smugmug.com/SketchOutings/2017-0418-Sketchers-Retreat-Day-Two/

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sketchers Retreat, Day Two

  1. Ching says:

    What a great story!

Leave a Reply

