Lettering

Despite the perfect weather for outdoor sketching, I spent most of it indoors at the “Letter Me This” workshop by Janice Berkebile at Daniel Smith.

First, I was quite early in an attempt to get parking at the store, which is always a challenge on a weekday.  I did this sketch from the car.  It’s a view down the street on which Daniel Smith is at the end, with a view of the Seattle skyline.  The tall, dark building is the Columbia Center.

The workshop was about letter structure in sketchbook journaling.  I’ve never gotten into that and this helped me understand what it is… or at least how Janice does it.   I worked from my own photos (with one exception).

This from my own photo taken in the Japanese Garden at UW.  It’s on an 8×10 sheet of Fluid 100 hot press.

This is a from a photo by Danny Ngan, probably taken at Emerald City ComiCon, where he volunteers as the resident photographer for the Star Wars costuming groups (Rebel Legion, Saber Guild and the 501st Legion).  This is the Latin for “May the Force be With You”!    Also Fluid 100 hot press.   It is worked with loaner pencils from Janice:  Caran d’Ache Museum Aquarell, which I’ve heard said are one of the best watercolor pencils.  I certainly liked them on this hot press paper.   Daniel Smith is going to carry the entire line and I can. not. wait but no exact date for arrival is announced.  I know I can buy them elsewhere, but I want to patronize the hometown business!

This is also from my photo…. this tree really does look like this!  I found it in the tiny Tukwila Pond park, behind the Target store in Southcenter.  Again, Fluid 100 hotpress but with DS watercolors.

All in all, a good day!  And I will think on issues and concepts about which I would like to create a journal image.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class, Journal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lettering

  1. Kay Tyllia says:

    I learned from your experience.
    The workshop sounded interesting, informative.
    I think any graphics added to a sketch are very important to the work of art and ARE part of the work of art., So, GOOD job of sharing, good examples, thanks!

  2. miatagrrl says:

    I spent much of yesterday socializing (a long-ago planned event), and while I enjoyed the lunch, I was looking longingly out the window during the best part of the day, wishing I were sketching! Interesting learning about the workshop and seeing what you did there. Caran d’Ache Museum Aquarelles have been my fave watercolor pencils for a long time! None better. Spendy, though!

    – Tina

Leave a Reply

