Travel Sketching demo

I didn’t attend the March for Science today because earlier in the day I attended an event for the medical/scientific study in which Himself is participating. I think that counts.

I went straight from that to the Travel Sketching lecture and demo by Stephanie Bower

When I first looked in upon arrival at about 1300, there was no one in the room.  I cruised the store and found Peggy H shopping.  I’ve not seen her in months and she wasn’t going to attend the event so I caught up with her until 1325.  Wow!  The room was full.  I think
there were at least 40 people there.

Stephanie with her kit displayed.

It was an excellent presentation.

This was similar to the lecture last year.  Stephanie talked about the kit she takes when she travels.  The focus is function and light weight.  Most of the items I knew about but there is a stool I might check on.

She then demonstrated how she sketches on location.

I did a very quick, very small sketch from my vantage point during her sketching demo.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Travel Sketching demo

  1. What impressed you about the stool?

  2. Thank you so much, Kate, for this write up and the photos! If you can send them to me, I would really appreciate too! It was great to see you there, thanks for coming… 🙂

Leave a Reply

