Middle Fork

The Seattle Urban Sketchers’ outing was listed as Seattle Art Museum (SAM) and Pike Street Neighborhood.  I was happy to spend the entire time inside SAM.  First, it was chilly and raining much of the time.  Second, I had free admission for volunteer week with my Museum of Flight volunteer badge!  Third, I wanted to get my fill of sketching Middle Fork.

John Grade: Middle Fork  http://www.seattleartmuseum.org/exhibitions/middlefork
Here is a detail of what it looks like up close

First thing, I settled down to sketch Middle Fork. It’s an unusual sculpture that was pieced together over many months.  Two of our group worked on it:  Ching (an Urban Sketcher who has since moved away) and John (husband of Urban Sketcher, Anne).   I sat on the floor at the base end.

Once finished, I went into the museum proper.  There is so much to sketch but I wanted to get this odd sculpture.  It’s called Mann und Maus (Man and Mouse) but I think the head shape looks more like a rat.  I enjoyed keeping pet rats, which I did for about 10 years.

Then I had a quick wander through “Seeing Nature”, and exhibit of landscapes on loan from the Paul Allen collection.  It “features 39 historically significant European and American landscape paintings from the past 400 years. These diverse works offer a unique opportunity for visitors to see the natural world through the eyes of great artists.”

In the “who knew” department, one of the signs for the exhibit explained that Microsoft co-founder, Paul Allen, drew all the time as a child and spent a lot of time at SAM.

I forgot to go to the Museum’s shop, but I did quickly browse through the mini-shop set up with Seeing Nature.  I noticed the pen in the shape of a tube of paint.  While I thought it was amusing and clever, I resisted.

There was still time, so I did another sketch of Middle Fork, this time from above.

We met in the far lobby to share sketches and have our group photo.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Middle Fork

  1. joantav says:

    Looks like you really enjoyed your day. Love both views of the sculpture.

Leave a Reply

