Warriors!

The Pacific Science Center’s Terracotta Warriors exhibit opened recently.   I took the opportunity of free admission during Volunteer Week to see it.

This is the world premier for this exhibit and there will be only one other US location before it returns to China.  There are several original figures in the exhibit and many reproductions.  They are from the Qin Dynasty (221-206 BCE).

By the numbers:
2200 years underground
At least 8000 figures discovered in the pits
40 years of excavation
Figures weigh an average of 300 pounds
Over 700,000 laborers to build the site

These are reproductions, painted as they were thought to have been.

I took nearly 100 photos, which are all here:  https://redharp.smugmug.com/MKB/2017-0424-Terracotta-Warriors/

The museum staff indicated I could use ink but I didn’t want to push it for watercolor (even with a contained waterbrush) so I completed the drawings in the exhibit and added color, such as there is, later.  I sketched a 2 page montage.  The “High Ranking General” was excavated in 1980; was one of 7 such figures found in pit number 1.  He is 76.75 inches tall.

33885387150_a3a52029ba_z

This was an amazing exhibit well worth seeing.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Warriors!

  1. Kay Tyllia says:

    Kate, the Montage is beautifully done. I am looking forward to the day I attend the show. I have been in awe of Terra-cotta Warriors since their discovery and have a couple small replicas. Thank you for your thorough set of photos and a lovely 2 page watercolor impression of the show.
    Your blog continues to be educational, impressive. Thank you. How long were you in the exhibit?

  2. How wonderful, I saw them in London awhile ago, I’d love to see them in China!

Leave a Reply

