Bunny Buns

What a day!  It felt like we had suddenly launched into summer.  With perfect weather predicted I thought it would be a good day to sketch the bunnies!  This is a sculpture at Point Ruston complex near Tacoma.  I’ve had my eye on these charming and whimsical rabbits for quite some time.

I first stopped at Fort Nisqually to check on some things as I make art for sale in their shop.  While there, I looked in on the newly completed “Palais de Poulet” otherwise known as the chicken coop.  It is quite grand.  The slanted and slated structure seen in the foreground is the “duck and cover” shelter.  One chicken was recently lost to a raven attack.

Then on to Point Ruston where the first stop was lunch outdoors on the patio from Wild Fin’s Fish Bar.  There were so many people out and about that my wait was over 30 minutes!  I did a very quick ink sketch only to realize I would have had time for a longer one!

I took my lunch I took out to the edge of the patio with a view of Commencement Bay.

Sitting on the brick pavers next to a concrete planter I became rather warm!  I like getting the unexpected back view of animals and animal sculptures… it all started with the horses’ read ends as they stood in their stalls at the Fair!

This sculpture is officially known as Hip Hop, By Georgia Gerber
Material: Bronze | 2013
“Hip-Hop” is an expression of joy, movement, and whimsy. The form was originally created in 2007 as part of Georgia’s ongoing series of sculptures depictingstylized rabbits in various dance poses.”

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bunny Buns

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Oh, this is great, Kate! I’ve never seen this sculpture, front or back!

    Tina

  2. joantav says:

    What adorable bunny sculptures! I like the front and the back view that you sketched.

Leave a Reply

