B’ham Fri & Saturday

We arrived in Bellingham (WA) about 1730 Friday afternoon after driving through some heavy traffic.  We listened to several episodes of NPR’s “Hidden Brain” podcast, so it was not a burden to be longer in traffic.

The hotel gave us a restaurant sheet and a German place caught our eye.  It was about a half hour drive away in a small town but we went.  The jaeger schnitzel was unusual (cream sauce instead of mushroom) but then, it usually is different everywhere you go.  Huge portions.  I sketched while waiting for our meal in my tiny sketchbook (3×5).

On Saturday we went to the campus early to register for LinuxFest.  https://www.linuxfestnorthwest.org/2017      I attended one presentation and then left.  Himself stayed the entire day, of course.

The hotel had also provided a list of interesting places to see.  I went first to Big Rock Garden Park, which is also a sculpture garden.  I’m glad I wandered all the way down to the bottom as that’s were I found this henge-like structure.  There is no info about it there nor could I find anything on the internet.  This is the 3rd or 4th such structure I’ve sketched.

Funny thing, the paper I used is Legion Paper’s new Stonehenge Aqua (140# coldpress).  I quite like it.    Also, I tried out the Noodler’s Lexington Grey.  I remember having used it before and didn’t like it.  I have admired the sketches of others using a lighter ink color than my usual dark black.  This worked fine and unlike Noodler’s Bulletproof Black, dried quickly enough and didn’t smear.  I did emphasize the stones with black, though.

I drove around town a bit looking for something else.  I finally just ended up at Rocket Donuts and drew another view of the rocket.  I have a sketch from 2014, when we last came for Linux fest.

Then back to campus to pick Himself up.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

