A Long, but fruitful, day

Friday, 19 May

The plan for the day started with the evening:  attend Roy DeLeon’s show at St. Placid Priory.  He’s one of 20 artists in a fund raising show at the Benedictine priory… a fair drive south.

Because the traffic southbound in late afternoon is so horrendous, I decided to go south earlier, especially when I learned that ThinkGeek was having a grand opening event for a new store in Tacoma Mall.  Then I would meet Urban Sketcher Frances Buckmaster and we would carpool down to Lacey, sketch in the area; have dinner; and then go to Roy’s show.  It didn’t hurt that it was finally a nice, spring-like day.

So, first activity was the ThinkGeek opening.  Even an hour after opening, there was a long line.  But I joined it as I had time before I needed to be at Frances’.  I was given a commemorative pin upon joining the line.  Once in the store, I didn’t see anything for which I was willing to stand in another long line to buy!  All the things plus much more is available in the on-line store.

But I did encounter the Jedi costumer to whom I’d given a lightsaber!  And three of her friends, all from Alpha Base (a regional branch of Rebel Legion).  We went to lunch and I had a great time.  I shared some of my “old timer” history on Alpha Base.

Once Frances and I were in Lacey, we drove around a bit and found St. Martin’s University and St. Martin’s Abbey.  We both sketched in the Father Prior Alfred J. Hulsoher, OSB courtyard, with it’s fountain.  In the background is what I think is the bell tower of the Abbey church.

I moved on to a garden near the Abbey Church to sketch the statue of St. Benefict…. with a raven on his shoulder.  I learned elsewhere:  “The raven is a symbol for solitude. It also symbolizes filial gratitude and affection, wisdom, hope, longevity, death, and fertility.”

After dinner, we were still a little early for the opening of the art show, so we walked the grounds and then sat in a peaceful spot at St. Placid.  I did another quick sketch… this was a small garden alcove in the corner of a building.

Roy had some beautiful paintings in the show.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get a picture of him with his display!

Photos:

ThinkGeek opening:  https://redharp.smugmug.com/StarWars/2017-0519-ThinkGeek-store-opening-at-Tacoma-Mall/

St. Martin’s & St. Placid:  https://redharp.smugmug.com/SketchOutings/2017-0519-St-Martins-St-Placid/

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

