Visual Journaling 10×10

Yesterday (Sat, 20 May) I attended the second of the Seattle 10×10 Workshops.  This was Visual Journaling taught by Michele Cooper.

I met her through Urban Sketchers.  I have long admired her sketching and the way she develops a montage on the page.  Many of them can be seen on her Flickr page:   Michele teaches prolifically and has an excellent reputation as a teacher… I’ve met many of her students who have joined Urban Sketchers because of her and they all speak glowingly of her.

I had occasionally planned my page spread to be a montage as I’ve seen Michele do on our sketch outings with Urban Sketchers Seattle.  This workshop was an opportunity to have formal instruction on how she does this.

What I learned:

The first exercise was 30 min.  I learned not to try to do it all in such a limited time!  I was frustrated in my hurry.

There are several ways to plan the page layout:  Linear, Modular, Path and Radial.  Use boxes to plan for use of space on the page.

Use more ephemera to add to the memory of the place.   For my final sketch, I picked up some pieces from the Starbucks Roastery to glue in.  At home, I also printed out the logo for the workshop and had left room for it in the sketch.

Write more observations on the page.  This creates the reportage.

Six stroke figures.  I’d seen her handout about this on her blog but it was good to watch her construct figures easily in 6 brush strokes!

My second montage sketch:

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class, Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Visual Journaling 10×10

  1. joantav says:

    I’m sure Michele’s class was excellent. I’ve seen some of the video presentations she’s done. I think a class in planning a page is a great idea. Yours came out really nice!

Leave a Reply

