2 demos 1 day

Along with some other Urban Sketchers, I spent much of this sunny day inside at Daniel Smith, attending some demos.

First was “Seattle Waterfront in Watercolor” by Che Lopez.  The room was pretty full, despite it being a gorgeous holiday weekend.  Dave was another USk’er who attended.

Notes:

Che teaches at Kirkland Arts Center and at Pratt.  He’s a signature member of the NW Watercolor Society and its current President.
website:  http://www.artofche.com/
YouTube:  https://www.youtube.com/user/chemuco
Instagram #artofche

He demonstrated painting sunset sky and water, completing a gorgeous painting in a little over an hour.

Deciding what to do next.

He uses Arches 140# cold press, half and quarter sheets.  The larger the sheet, the larger the brush.  Let the washes sit for a bit before taking the hair dryer to them.  They’ll continue to blend.

He painted the dock and then took the spray bottle to it to create the reflection in the water, holding the board straight up to let the paint flow down.

He referred to the cranes at the port as “Seattle Dinosaurs”.  🙂   I noted he was very loose in painting both the cranes and the dock… very little exact detail and done in big strokes.  But they still “read” as cranes and dock.

We had about 1.5 hours until the next demo.  I’d brought my lunch so ate it
while I read.  Then I shopped a bit until it was time for Janice’s demo.  And more USk’ers arrived:  Tom and Harris!

“Playing with Daniel Smith Luminescent Watercolors with Janice Berkebile”.  She started by describing the characteristics of this series.  All have mica so they are sparkly.

Pearlescent:  adds shimmer
Iridescent reflect light and their semi-transparent quality adds a sense of depth
Duochrome has a sheen that “toggles” between 2 colors
Interference reflects light differently and shows better on dark paper.  Display a subtle sheen
Think of them as a blending tool.  Her favorite is iridescent electric blue and I found I had to agree with her.

We got to play around with them.  I tried a few colors on white paper and then on black. I thought they were most impressive on black!  I mixed them a bit.  These are not pigments I’m likely to use in my everyday kit… not really on-location sort of colors.  But they’d be good for imaginative sketches and journaling.

Thanks to both these artists for a great day spent at the Mothership!

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

