Finally inside 85°C

The newest outlet of the famous Taiwanese bakery, 85°C Bakery Café, opened in Southcenter mall in March. I’ve wanted to sketch inside since then. Every Monday I do some errands in that area and I check but the lines have always been out the door!

The only time I got to do a sketch was in March, from the outside, because it was closed due to a power outage.
https://redharparts.wordpress.com/2017/03/07/not-85-c/

Last week I noticed there wasn’t a line outside. So today I resolved I would try to have breakfast there. While there was a short line, between 5-10 minutes, waiting to pay, it was do-able.

They have an interesting way for customers to choose products. You pick up a tray, put a parchment paper over it, take a set of clean tongs from the hanging display, and then go around the bins, picking what you want, placing on the tray. Once in line, staff put them in individual plastic bags.

I chose a few items that weren’t too unusual. The Berry Tale bun was quite good. First impression was that the tuna danish was just too weird, but later I wished I had bought one just to see what it was like!

Sketched the scene, including my pastry, in my handmade, small sketchbook.

 

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Finally inside 85°C

  1. miatagrrl says:

    The coffee maker was broken??! I can’t imagine how they stayed open. 😉 Now that the crowds have died down, I’ll have to make a trip down there sometime.

    – Tina

  2. aduke2015 says:

    Delicious page and description. You definitely have to get the Tuna Danish next time !

  3. That’s a very Asian approach. We went to many similar places in Japan. Breakfast pizzas and hotdog pastries were quite common.

Leave a Reply

