Deeper than the Titanic

Early this morning I took some things to the Museum of Flight. They asked for a number of recycled items that will be used in their camps this summer. Since I was there an hour before Museum opening time, I used the quiet time in the new Apollo exhibit to sketch the mangled F1 rocket parts.

After launch, these Saturn V Moon rocket components sank deeper than the Titanic. They cam to rest 3 miles beneath the ocean surface where they were lost for over 40 years. That’s 1 mile deeper than Titanic.

This is what it looks like before launch.

In 201o, Amazon founder Jef Bezos formed an “all Seattle” team of deep sea explorers, including veterans of the search for Titanic, to locate and recover some of the engines from these moon launch rockets. The effort to recover and prepare these engines took 5 years.

When Jeff Bezos was asked why he did this, he answered, “I want to inspire 5 year olds”.

Driving home, I thought of my mother.  She would have enjoyed this exhibit, I think.  She was so interested in the Space Program.  We watched every launch together.

More photos:  https://redharp.smugmug.com/MKB/2017-0614-Apollo/

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Deeper than the Titanic

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Fascinating! And cool to know your mom would have enjoyed it, too.

    – Tina

Leave a Reply

