Labyrinth

This is another location that has been on my list for a while. I stopped on my way some where else early this morning, before the day got too hot. The place is delightfully shaded, too.

This little outing gave me a chance to trial a new pen case.  Actually, it holds all my tools.  I like it a lot, mainly because it can stand up and fold over to make the pens more accessible.   I got it from Jet Pens.

This is the labyrinth at St. Stephen the Martyr Catholic Church. I’ve lived near it for 17 years but only recently did I realize there was a labyrinth on the grounds. That was earlier this year when I went to sketch the church for the weekly theme.

In the 1990’s I became aware of walking the labyrinth as a meditative or prayer practice. There was an influential book Walking the Sacred Path by Lauren Artress.
And an organization, Veriditas.   from the website:
“The labyrinth is not a maze. There are no tricks to it and no dead ends. It has a single circuitous path that winds its way into the center. The person walking it uses the same path to return from the center and the entrance then becomes the exit. The path is in full view, which allows a person to be quiet and focus internally.”

Walking the labyrinth inside Grace Cathedral San Francisco helped me make a major decision about 10 years ago. I had a difficult choice between two positions at work, both of which were offered to me.

There was a woman seated at the edge, mostly writing in a book.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in KIt and Supplies, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Labyrinth

  1. Kay. Tyllia says:

    The staccato of your stroke reflects the dapple of the sun. Effective concept.
    Educational, informative post.
    Personal story.
    Thanks.
    Kay

  2. miatagrrl says:

    Nice sketch, and what an interesting find! I have one of those NeoCritz pen cases. I used to carry it, but it added too much bulk to my bag. I did like that it stands alone like a pen cup, though.

  3. Nice sketch of the labyrinth and the surrounding area. You have a nice, easy setup for your materials.

Leave a Reply

