Workshop second day

This is the second day of the Pat Southern-Pierce workshop held in Mt. Vernon, WA.

We again started under the shade in Sharyn’s garden. Pat taught about her letter form and we did exercises. Once she explained it, it was easily grasped. But I had not seemed able to do so from previous observation.  It is based on an Art Nouveau style. We added lettering to sketches done yesterday.

Then we moved to Scarlet’s magnificent garden. I could sketch there for days! Since I was really not interested in sketching on toned paper, I reverted to my usual watercolor sketchbook. But I used the lettering we learned in the afternoon.

The afternoon throw down

and the final group photo, taken by Scarlet’s husband.

All in all it was a delightful workshop. The setting made it so relaxing and friendly. Also, Sunday was only a high of 73 degrees, so it was also a welcome respite from the heat at home.

I’m going to order a broad nib for one of my Lamy fountain pens.  I’m not sure whether I’ll use it for drawing but I will use it for lettering.  I do like Pat’s line work in her sketches and will look at it some more and think about using a broader pen.  I’ve been using very fine nib pens up to now.

Lots of photos from the garden here:
https://redharp.smugmug.com/SketchOutings/2017-0805-Second-day-of-workshop/

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Class and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Workshop second day

  1. Kay Tyllia says:

    The garden of the second day of your workshop was just amazing, Kate. What an inspiration. The creator(s) of it were incredibly talented. I really liked your work from it as well. How wonderful that you took this workshop and I am grateful you shared it. Again, I learned and enjoyed.

  2. miatagrrl says:

    I know you’re not a fan of working on toned paper, but I am! (I’m looking forward to getting the new S&B Nova books to do more of it.) I don’t do much writing on my sketches, but Pat’s writing style is a nice enhancement to her pages. I think your new writing will look great on your pages, too. Thanks for the summary of this workshop — I think you got a much better deal than the 3 hours that the symposium folks got!

    – Tina

  3. How great that you were able to take her class. I saw some of the pages that people did in Chicago with her and I was impressed. Her work is so different. Looks like you did well adapting it to your own sketchbooks.

Leave a Reply

