Disguised

I went out relatively early this morning to do this sketch while it was still cooler.  I’ve sketched this water tower in my neighborhood before but it was early 2012, when I’d just returned to sketching about a month before.  That one looks a bit stiff to me now.  And I wanted to do it again for the Urban Sketchers Flickr group weekly theme, which is “Water/Sewer Infrastructure”.   We do pick some unusual ones, don’t we?

I like our water tower as it is rather cleverly disguised.  The top is painted just the right color to blend into our often grey, cloudy skies.  So then the evergreen trees painted on it also just blend into the surrounding trees.  There have been times when I couldn’t even see it!

Now perhaps they could also disguise the cell tower as an evergreen.  I’ve seen cell towers made to look like palm trees in Southern California.

Oh, you wanna compare this to the one in 2012?   Go here. 

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Disguised

  1. miatagrrl says:

    So cool to see your old sketch and your new! Your basic style hasn’t changed, but your composition and painting skills have improved so much! You’ll have fun sketching the Maple Leaf water tower later this month. 😉

    – Tina

  2. Good that you kept your original sketch. I often have to plead with new members in our usk group not to tear out or throw away their early sketches.

Leave a Reply

