Sculptures

Many of us would have been attending the 5th Annual Urban Sketchers West Coast  Sketch crawl this weekend. However, several months ago it was cancelled. So we in Seattle decided to have a weekend of sketching anyway! This was the first of 3 intensive days.

Driving in and parking reminded me once again why I prefer taking the bus or light rail. I thought I’d found a good bus route to the Seattle Art Museum’s Olympic Sculpture Park. But because of construction, the home-bound stop had been closed and we’d have to walk further. I wasn’t sure of the route and didn’t want to inflict my lack on the two sketchers traveling with me. Despite traffic and the park’s lot being unexpectedly closed (again!), we arrived in good time.

Several sketchers enjoyed the cool weather as we sketched in this park close to Puget Sound. Except for the smoke still in the air (from the forest fires in BC), it was a perfect day.

My first choice of subject today was one of my favorite sculptures in the park: Wake by Richard Serra (2004). “The towering, curved-steel forms were achieved with computer imaging and a machine that once made nuclear submarines. Wake is composed of five identical modules, each with paired S-shapes—gently curving serpentines of convex and concave sections suggesting tidal waves or profiles of battleships.”

My other favorite sculpture is Echo by Jaume Plensa (2011) “Plensa modeled Echo on the 9-year-old daughter of a restaurant owner near the artist’s studio in Barcelona. The sculpture’s title references Echo, the mountain nymph from Greek mythology, who offended the goddess Hera. To punish Echo, Hera deprived the nymph of speech, except for the ability to repeat the last words of another. In this monumental sculpture, over 46 feet tall, Echo listens with her eyes closed or in a state of meditation. She faces Puget Sound in the direction of Mount Olympus, visible from land and water”

I’d sketched her once before. I’d hoped to find a view where I could both see some of her face and the view toward which she looked. I didn’t find it.

On my way to Echo, I’d stopped under a canopy with tables and chairs to look at The Eagle by Alexander Calder (1971). I returned there to sketch this unusual view of the sculpture. It was one that featured prominently in sketches today.

Sharing sketches

For our group photo, we’re standing in front of Curve XXIV (1981) by Ellsworth Kelly.  “Although its silhouette at first appears abstract, Curve XXIV suggests an autumn ginkgo leaf or a billowing sail.” It was Pam’s first sketch outing with us today!  (She is standing behind Kathleen and me, in the pink shirt).  Welcome, Pam!!

A few more photos:  https://redharp.smugmug.com/SketchOutings/2017-0811-Olympic-Sculpture-Park/

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

