A pleasant campus

On Saturday (Sept 2) Urban Sketchers Tacoma gathered at University of Puget Sound. It is a beautiful, “red brick” campus with manicured lawns and tall trees. I found the architecture very appealing.

It is a 4 year liberal arts college affiliated with the United Methodist Church. It was  founded in 1888. They are the “Loggers”. 

 

 

As usual, we (Feather & Carolyn carpooled with me) arrived early and had some time to explore the campus. I decided during this walk through that this spire and the fountain would be my sketch subjects.

Sharing sketches and the group photo

 

We had planned for lunch in a cafe off campus but, when called, they thought they might be too full to accommodate a group. Fortunately, during our walk around, we found the university cafeteria. It was a good place for lunch with many choices and lots of room for our group to sit together.

After lunch we went into the library to see the exhibit “Mare Made”, featuring a retrospective of the art books by local artist Mare Blocker.  We also encountered a small exhibit of a group of Chandler O’Leary‘s prints.

 

Only as we were leaving did I see the observatory. I hope we’ll sketch there again next year and will remember that I want to sketch this next.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A pleasant campus

  1. joantav says:

    I like your sketches of the spire and the fountain! Nicely done.

  2. miatagrrl says:

    Beautiful composition of Smith Hall! I’d better visit this campus sometime. . . looks like a treat.

    – Tina

Leave a Reply

