Winery Sketching

The Friday group of Urban Sketches Seattle met further afield then usual today. We went out to the Chateau Ste Michelle winery northeast of Seattle. It is a beautiful grounds… from the vines in the fields to beautiful lawns, garden alcoves, waterfalls with pools. This is the winery’s 50th Anniversary.

My carpool of 4 arrived early. I walked back out to the gate to meet sketchers and tell them to drive further in to park. So, of course, I sketched the gate in my tiny 4×6 in book while I waited.

My primary subject today was the Chateau.  The winery occupies the site of Hollywood Farm, a 206 acre dairy farm built between 1910 and 1911 by a wealthy industrialist, Frederick S. Stimson, for an agricultural demonstration project and country estate.

After finishing, I still had a bit of time, so I walked back out to the fields to do a small sketch of the vines and grapes, again in the 4×6 book.  These are Campbells Early Grapes which is an old variety. It is not as prone to mildew in our cool climate. The wines are not of the quality of the European varieties so these are not production vines. “These are our oldest vines and were planted before the Chateau was built”.

We shared our sketches and had our group phone in the usual tourist location.


Feather is missing from the photo.

And I didn’t even try any wine!

More photos: https://redharp.smugmug.com/SketchOutings/2017-0922-Winery-sketch-outing/

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Winery Sketching

  1. Susan Torkelson says:

    You should have at least TASTED the wine. Their Gewurtxtraminer, made at their Mendocino location, is the best I have ever tasted!

  2. joantav says:

    It looks like a beautiful winery. Your sketch of the building is so nice, but I really like the closeup of the vines!

Leave a Reply

