Pumpkins at Swanson’s

Urban Sketchers Seattle used to go to a pumpkin farm to sketch before Halloween. But one too many outings in the rain with no shelter changed that. Today we went to Swanson’s Nursery to sketch their fall decor. Though there was plenty of shelter, we didn’t need it as it was a gorgeous sunny day.

Who’s watching you? Someone noticed my pumpkin socks with the eyes peeking out.

I might be starting a tradition. Last fall I sketched the large dinosaur topiary. Today, though, Humphrey was just a wire frame with no vegetation.   But I found some deer in the back.

They were already setting up for Christmas. The large model train village will be Star Wars themed this year!  You an see Luke at the back and Sand People at the lower right.

But there was still plenty of pumpkins. The scarecrow contest was there again this year. I’d also sketched one of those last year. This one was my favorite this year.

More photos:   https://redharp.smugmug.com/SketchOutings/2017-1027-Swansons-Nursery/

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pumpkins at Swanson’s

  1. Thanks for the vicarious trip to your nursery. I really needed that. Great sketches. — Larry

  2. joantav says:

    It’s funny how you plan to be inside and then the weather is nice enough to be outside. I like your witchy scarecrow…in a fun holiday setting. Nice !!!

Leave a Reply

