Visiting USk Port Townsend

During a previous visit, I’d walked through the Palace Hotel in Port Townsend but didn’t take the time to sketch there.  When the Urban Sketchers Port Townsend announced a Wednesday outing there, I thought it would be a good time to visit.

I convinced Himself to go with so we’d have a chance to stay together at the Chevy Chase Beach Cabins.

As we left on Tuesday, we traveled over the Narrows Bridge on the very date it collapsed during a windstorm in 1940. The rebuilt span is on the right and the recent addition is on the left.  All went well with this trip over the bridge!

We got settled into our small cabin and we took a walk around the property.  Here’s our charming cabin with a view.

It was sunset and I quickly did a simple sketch of the view from the hill above the beach.

On Wednesday morning, I went in to town to join the sketchers. It was good to meet the group and a fun time sketching this historic location.

With so many choices, it was difficult to settle on a subject.  I liked the globe and lamp that Mel was sketching, so I composed an alternate view, including him.

Then I sat on the stairs to sketch the entry door used by hotel guests.

Sharing sketches:

Group photo taken by one of the others.

More photos here: https://redharp.smugmug.com/MKB/2017-11-07-08/

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Visiting USk Port Townsend

  1. joantav says:

    Sounds like a great 2 for 1 deal…sketching and a little vacation.

Leave a Reply

