Muppets at MoPop

Friday sketchers met at MoPop…The Museum of Pop Culture (formerly known as EMP…Experience Music Project).

Since I hadn’t seen it yet, my first stop was the Jim Henson exhibit. I looked forward to sketching muppets and I wasn’t disappointed. There was an interactive Muppet design station for kids. It demonstrated how Sesame Street would make a new puppet for a background character, or “extra”. A variety of features could be stuck on in many different ways to create a new character. These were called “Anything Muppets”.

The sign for the exhibit is a bit of photo collage.

Tina sketches a Muppet.

I’d already viewed, and sketched, the Star Trek exhibit. I went again and this time sketched costumes from my favorite Star Trek: TNG (“The Next Generation”). The signs are all  photo collage.

We were few in number today. Perhaps that’s due to an important sketch outing tomorrow for the 10th Anniversary of Urban Sketchers. (Natalie is missing)

More photos: https://redharp.smugmug.com/SketchOutings/2017-1110-MoPop-sketch-outing/

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketch Crawl, Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Muppets at MoPop

  1. miatagrrl says:

    Nice group photo — we look like the Supremes! 😉

Leave a Reply

