Beyond Earth

Early this morning I was one of the first to enter the new exhibit at the Museum of Flight. This was a member only, timed entry, event for “Home Beyond Earth”, an exhibit about space stations.

The segment I enjoyed most, was, of course, the Astronaut Artist, Nicole Scott. Some months ago she gave a talk at the Museum about art in space. She did the first watercolor on the International Space Station in 2009. However, she didn’t bring any images of her art! In this exhibit there is one original watercolor, “The Wave”, based on a photo taken from ISS of Isla Roques, Venezuela.

I sketched a little, doing tiny sketches in an A5 book with pencil only. I finished with a little watercolor pencil in the cafe after. We were given these mugs, too. The card on the right has a QR code that is used for the interactive stations in the exhibit.

From left to right:

Model of The Brick Moon, based on an 1869 illustration. One of the staff told me it was 3-D printed in house and Geoff Nunn, curator, did the finish painting on it.

Model of a Nuclear powered Space Base conceived by North American Rockwell in 1970. At first glance, I thought it was a tinker toy!

Wendy Lawrence’s Pingvin (Penguin) Suit from 1996. It is a Russian suit that uses elastic straps to mimic the load of gravity on the body.

Lots more photos here.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches, Urban Sketchers and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.