Staff meeting and more

It’s not Thursday but I have Museum of Flight sketches anyway!  I left the house today at 0730 in order to be at the Museum in time for the “All Hands Meeting”.  Managers pronounced 2012 a success.  Attendance was up….they met a goal of 500,000 visitors!  We heard about some interesting and exciting plans for both the near and distant future.  Good things are coming but I won’t give them away here until they happen.  I learned the Seattle Museum of Flight is the largest and foremost private air and space museum in the world.  Emphasis is on private, as other large ones are government funded.

The meeting ended just before 1000 and opening time.  I did this little ink sketch in my pocket watercolor Moleskine during the meeting.

I decided to stay around and sketch a little in the Museum.  This is a WWII era Corsair on display in the Great Gallery.   It’s black color and curved wings were interesting to sketch. This is the first sketch in my new Stathmore watercolor Visual Journal.  I do like the paper.  This isn’t a very wet sketch, but the paper didn’t buckle at all.

I went over to the Space Gallery to check on the set up for a NASA traveling exhibit, “Space Shuttle:  Conquering Low Earth Orbit”.  Installation is not finished but I liked this shipping box.

It was lunch time and I had a few more errands to do.  I stopped at Southcenter Mall to have my favorite Ivar’s Senior Fish & Chips.  For those reading who are not from around here, Ivar’s is a local restaurant chain that specializes in fish.  There motto is a fracture of that British one, “Keep Clam”.  Groan.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketches and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Staff meeting and more

  1. What a great group of sketches — such a Pacific Northwest angle!

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.