Downton Abbey Trunk Show

Nilda discovered this Downton Abbey fabric event at Pacific Fabrics.  I attended with her and Tina.

Of course, we had to sketch during the presentation!

There are 3 bits of photo collage on the right

It was a “trunk show” of the new line of a  special collection of fabrics based on the costumes of the TV show.  The rep told us that Andover Fabrics was invited by the show to create the fabric line.

The rep also told us that there will be Seasons 5 and 6, with the option to go all the way through a 10th season!  Yay!

The dresses on display were 1920’s era, which I do not like.  However, I was quite pleased that some of the fabrics in the collection were rather well done reproductions from the early 1900’s.  The one I bought was from the Dowager Countess line and dated from 1910.  This compares a photo of the period fabric swatch with the modern cotton I purchased.

We were invited to come in period clothes.  As I said, I really can’t stand the ’20s.  So I’m dressed in Edwardian-ish, similar to the 1st season of the show.

Photo by Tina K.

And I won a prize in trivia.

Complete the sentence “Nothing succeeds like….”   Scroll down for the answer

A few more photos are here. 

“excess”.  Said by the Dowager Countess (my favorite character)

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Photography, Sketches and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.