Restoring the 747

Thursday and I’m back to my routine of Museum of Flight sketches.  This time I went out to the Air Park after my shift.  Global Jet Painting, LLC has been contracted to repaint the exterior of the Museum’s Boeing 747.  It’s the very first one off the assembly line, numbered RA 001.  Normally, aircraft would be painted in a special hangar.  This one can’t be moved to the paint hangar in Everett.  So this company has a special process to paint it in place.

Today they were sanding the exterior of the aircraft.  I sketched a portion of the scene in my pocket Moleskine.

As I was finishing the sketch, Guy, the President of the company, came over to talk to me.  He said the crew couldn’t paint yesterday due to the heavy rain so they went through Museum.  Then they went on the Boeing Factory Tour in Everett.  Thus, he said, they are the only crew in the world to be simultaneously refurbishing an historic 747 and seeing one being built.

About redharparts

Born in Michigan. Attended undergrad and graduate universities there. I've lived in England, Germany, Southern California and now Washington (state). I'm a retired Medical Social Worker with a past specialty in Oncology. I've enjoyed exploring historical re-creation through the SCA. I costume in several fandoms. Lately I've returned to Art and have taken up Urban Sketching, a version of en plein air painting.
This entry was posted in Sketches and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.